Building your SharePoint network

Building your SharePoint network

In the People view, tap the heading People, and then select Colleagues to list the people you work with on a regular basis. You can add people to your colleagues list, manage your colleagues by using groups, and restrict who can see them.

Note: To view the Colleagues list, you must have a configured social server.

Who is in my colleagues list?

The Colleagues list contains all the people that are members of your SharePoint colleague list.

To add people to the colleagues list:

This feature applies to the Enterprise Edition only.

  1. Find a person, and then tap the Add Colleague icon ()
    - or -
    Tap the Actions menu () > Add Colleague ().
  2. Select Add to Group > Existing Group, and select the group name under Group, or select Add to Group > New Group and enter a new group name under Group.
    The new group is created when you tap Save.
  3. Set who can see this person in your colleagues list by selecting one of the following from the Show to picker: Everyone / My Colleagues / My Team / My Manager / Only Me.
  4. Tap the Add to My Team check box to add the person to the My Team privacy category in SharePoint.
  5. Tap Save.

To manage the colleagues groups:

This feature applies to the Enterprise Edition only.

  1. Add a person to your colleagues.
    - or -
    Tap the Actions menu () > Add Colleague () / Edit Colleague ().
    - or -
    View a colleague and select the Colleague icon () > Edit Colleague.
  2. Add the colleague to an existing group by selecting Add to Group > Existing Group, and then selecting the group name in the Group box, or if you want to add the colleague to a new group, select Add to Group > New Group and enter a new group name under Group. The new group is created when you tap Save.
  3. Tap Save.

To view a group of my colleagues:

Tap the Search action (). Type the group name in the Find box of the Colleagues tab. The list is filtered and shows only colleagues belonging to that group.

To edit a colleague’s settings:

This feature applies to the Enterprise Edition only.

To move a colleague to a different group, or change their privacy settings:

  1. View a colleague and select the Colleague icon () > Edit Colleague.
    - or -
    Tap the Actions menu () > Edit Colleague ().
  2. Change the settings as described above.

To remove a person from my colleagues list:

This feature applies to the Enterprise Edition only.

  1. View a colleague and select the Colleague icon () > Remove Colleague.
    - or -
    Tap the Actions menu () > Remove Colleague ().
  2. Tap Yes.