Building your social network

Building your social network (SharePoint 2010)

This topic describes building your social network, when the configured social server is SharePoint 2010.

Use the Colleagues view in the People tab to list the people you work with on a regular basis. You can add, edit, and remove people from your colleagues list, view a group of your colleagues, and manage your colleagues' groups.

Note: To view the People tab, you must have a configured social server.

Who is in your colleagues list?

By default, the SharePoint Colleagues list contains the people that are members of your SharePoint colleague list.

To add people to the colleagues list:

To add people to your colleagues list:

  1. Go to the Colleagues view > Suggested Colleagues, select a person from the list and click the Add as Colleague link.
    - or -
    Find a person, and then click More Actions > Add as Colleague.
    The Add/Edit Colleague dialog allows you to add a person as a colleague, and to set his group and security settings.
  2. Optionally, do any of the following:
    1. Add the colleague to an existing group by selecting the group name from the drop-down list, or to a new group, by specifying a new group name in the text box. The new group will be created when you click OK.
    2. Restrict who can see this person in your colleagues list by selecting Show to My Colleagues / My Team / My Manager / Only Me.
    3. Check Add to My Team to add the person to the My Team privacy category in SharePoint.
  3. Click OK.

To edit a colleague’s settings:

Use the Edit Colleague dialog to move a colleague to a different group, or change their privacy settings:

  1. View a colleague and select More Actions > Edit Colleague.
  2. Change the settings as explained above.

The Suggested Colleagues list:

The Suggested Colleagues list includes SharePoint contacts you interact with frequently, who are not in your SharePoint Colleagues list. The rating for the contacts is based on the frequency of your interactions.

Select Add as Colleague to add the person to your Colleagues list, or Ignore to remove the person from the Suggested Colleagues list.

A red dot in the Colleagues view icon indicates that there are new 5-star contacts in your Suggested Colleagues list.

Note: A red dot in the People tab indicates you either have new 5-star contacts in your Suggested Colleagues list, or you have unread updates in the Updates view. Click the People tab to see what is new.

To remove a person from your colleagues list:

To remove a person from the colleagues list, view this person’s business card, and select More Actions > Remove Colleague.

To view a group of your colleagues:

You can filter the colleagues list by group of colleagues. To filter the list, click the Groups filter icon () and select the group you want to see or select All Colleagues to view all your colleagues.

To manage the colleagues groups:

  1. Add a person to your colleagues.
    - or -
    View a colleague and select More Actions > Edit Colleague.
  2. Add the colleague to an existing group by selecting the group name from the drop-down list, or to a new group, by specifying a new group name in the text box. The new group will be created when you click OK.
  3. Click OK.